The Review Panel

Review Panel MemberChair: Bill Louden, University of Western Australia

Bill Louden AM is Emeritus Professor of Education at the University of Western Australia. He was Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor at the University of Western Australia from 2009-2013 and Dean of Education from 2006-2008.

He chaired the Western Australian Government’s Literacy and Numeracy Review Taskforce and was a member of the National Inquiry into the Teaching of Literacy. He was Chair of the Curriculum Council of Western Australia, a foundation board member of the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) and foundation deputy chair of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL).

Review Panel MemberLisa Paul, Recent Former Secretary, Department of Education and Training (Cth)

Lisa Paul AO PSM was a Chief Executive in the Australian Public Service from 2004-2016. Her most recent role was Secretary of the Australian Government Department of Education and Training. In her role as Secretary, Lisa was the most senior education adviser in Australia. Her responsibilities spanned early childhood, school education, post-school education, international education, science, innovation and research, employment and workplace relations.

Review Panel MemberPhil Lambert, Adjunct Professor

Phil Lambert PSM is Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Education and Social Work at the University of Sydney and was previously the General Manager, Curriculum at ACARA, leading the development of Australia’s first national curriculum.  Phil has extensive experience in education as a principal, inspector, policy director, Assistant Director-General and Regional Director and has also overseen a number of major policy initiatives in NSW in early childhood, primary education, rural education and Aboriginal education. He is currently providing leadership and expert advice in national curriculum reforms for Brazil, Korea, Japan and the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.